Skip to main content
  • Understanding Kazakhstan’s Commitment to Promoting the Global Non-Proliferation Regime

    17.11.2017 | E-Bulletin | Energy | 80 Abulkhairkhan Zhunisbek

    At present, the nuclear non-proliferation regime includes five major international tools: the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) signed in 1968; the International Atomic Energy Agency’s (IAEA) safeguards system; nuclear export guidelines and associated national controls; nuclear testing prohibition such as the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT), which emerged in 1996 but is still to enter into force; and the regional agreements on nuclear-weapon-free zones (NWFZ). The main purpose of the NPT, this landmark international treaty, and other elements of the non-proliferation regime is to limit the status of nuclear weapon states to China, France, USSR/Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States.

    Tags: Kazakhstan, Energy, Nuclear


  • Junior Research Fellow

    Abulkhairkhan Zhunisbek

    Abulkhairkhan Zhunisbek is a research fellow at the Eurasian Institute of the International H.A Yassawi Kazakh-Turkish University. He graduated from Abylai Khan Kazakh University of International Relations and World Languages with a Bachelor in International Relations.