Akhmet Yassawi University

History of the University

Akhmet Yassawi International Kazakh-Turkish University (Akhmet Yassawi University) established in 1991 on the personal initiative of the Head of State N.A. Nazarbayev and based on the Intergovernmental Agreement between Kazakhstan and Turkey to train modern highly qualified specialists from young Turkic-speaking countries, the spiritual center of the Turkic world – Turkestan and is the first university that received the status of an international institution of higher education.

On October 31, 1992, the Governments of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Republic of Turkey signed the Agreement on the reorganization of the university into Khoja Akhmet Yassawi International Kazakh-Turkish University.

In January 2012, the Head of State signed the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan on the ratification of the Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Government of the Republic of Turkey on the operating conditions of the Khoja Akhmet Yassawi International Kazakh-Turkish University.

The mission is to become a leader among Turkic-speaking states and communities in the field of innovative education and research.

Vision is the best university among higher educational institutions of the world and by national rating in the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Core values: Spiritual renewal. Friendship, Equality and Tolerance, Transparency, Integrity, Professionalism, Innovation.

Khoja Akhmet Yassawi International Kazakh-Turkish University – one of the leading multidisciplinary universities in Kazakhstan.

The university’s multi-level education system includes: higher basic education (undergraduate), internship, magistracy, residency and doctoral studies. Admission to the university is carried out on state and Turkish educational grants and on a contractual basis.

Educational activities are carried out in 54 undergraduate majors, 30 magistracy specialties, 11 PhD, 3 residency and 7 internships in natural, humanitarian, economic, legal, social, medical, technical sciences, education, business, services and art.

In the 2018-2019 academic year, the university has 71 doctors, 282 candidates of science, 67 PhD doctors. Of these, 5% are foreign teachers from Turkey and other countries.

Training is conducted in Kazakh, Turkish, Russian and English.

The university has 10 faculties, the High School of Public Administration and Economics, a vocational college, 6 research institutes, a specialized dissertation council for doctoral theses, about 10 thousand students, interns, undergraduates, residents and doctoral students are trained at the university.

Khoja Akhmet Yassawi International Kazakh-Turkish University is a unique university in the Turkic world, where there is a dialogue of cultures and inter-ethnic tolerant education of young people from more than 17 countries of the world, and in the context of modern globalization has important ideological importance as an educational center spiritually uniting the Turkic-speaking world.

Since 1992, the University began the training of medical specialists in the framework of higher and postgraduate education and has an international university category “full university”.

Currently, more than 9200 students, interns, undergraduates and doctoral students are studying at the university, including about 1,380 thousand students (17% of the contingent) from Turkic-speaking countries of the near and far abroad.

For all the years of its work, the university has prepared more than 70 thousand young specialists in the field of higher professional and postgraduate education, including from countries of near and far abroad, who today are successfully working for the good of their homeland.